In stock

Bryce Dessner: Aheym For String Quartet (Full Score)

This is the full score of Aheym  for String Quartet, composed by Bryce Dessner , best known as the guitarist of The National, but also an acclaimed composer in his own right. Composed in 2009 for the Kronos Quartet for their performance in Brooklyn's Prospect Park for the Celebrate Brooklyn! festival, Aheym (meaning 'homeward' in Yiddish) was directly inspired by his grandmother's migration to America. Dessner  states that the stories and information she used to tell them permeated their collective imagination and created a close connection to the past. He dedicates Aheym  to his grandmother, Sarah Dessner.  The score in this edition was first performed on the 12th of March 2009 at the MusicNOW Festival, and on the 18th of July 2009 in Prospect Park, Brooklyn. The work lasts around 10 minutes and is filled with dynamic tempo changes, a mix of staccato and smooth playing and all-round excitement. It's a fantastic piece to play and the genius composition will keep audiences on their toes.
More Information
SKU CH83732
Publisher Chester Music
ISBN 5020679151723
Contributors Dessner, Bryce (Composer)
Skill Level 5
Genre Post-1900
Pages 20
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Bryce Dessner: Aheym For String Quartet (Full Score)
Your Rating
To Top