In stock

Johannes Brahms: Complete Transcriptions, Cadenzas And Exercises For Solo Piano

The works of Brahms for solo piano cannot be considered complete without his especially instructive short studies, dances, and cadenzas. This volume contains them all: the five Studies after pieces by Chopin, Weber, and Bach; Transcription of a Gavotte by Gluck; Study after Schubert's Impromptu Op. 90, No. 2; two Gigues; two Sarabandes; a Theme and Variations; ten Hungarian Dances; eight Cadenzas for pieces by Bach, Mozart, and Beethoven; and 51 Piano Exercises.
The music is reproduced from the definitive Vienna Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde edition, edited by its renowned musicologist, Eusebius Mandyczewski, who made his revisions from original sources, often Brahms's own manuscripts. For this Dover edition, the Editor's Preface (Revisionbericht) and the Table of Contents have been translated into English.
Noteheads have been reproduced in a size large enough to be read easily at the keyboard. margins and spaces between staves are generous, permitting insertion of written notes, analysis, fingerings, running measure numbers, etc. This edition will be welcomed, not only by the instructor and the student, but by all lovers of Brahms and those who will find the volume most practical for reference and other purposes.


  • - Publisher: Dover Publications
  • - Year of Publication: 11-19-2014
  • - Language: English
More Information
SKU 486226522
Publisher Dover Publications
ISBN 9780486226521
Contributors Brahms, Johannes (Composer)
Genre Classical
Pages 192
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Johannes Brahms: Complete Transcriptions, Cadenzas And Exercises For Solo Piano
Your Rating
To Top