In stock

Helen Grime: Into The Faded Air for String Sextet (Full Score)

Into the faded air was commissioned by Britten Sinfonia for first performance at Filharmonic Hall, Krakow, Poland on Sunday 13th January 2008, with Jacqueline Shave (Violin), Miranda Dale (Violin), Clare Finnimore (Viola), Catherine Musker (Viola), Caroline Dearnley (Cello) and Banjamin Chappell (Cello). Scoring: String Sextet (2 Violins, 2 Violas, and 2 Cellos) Duration: 10 minutes Composer's Notes "Into The Faded Air is cast in four movements although the last three movements are played without a break. In the first movement, the sextet is divided into two groups. The first group, consisting of violin, viola and cello plays a sustained melody while the second group (also violin, viola and cello) contributes more jagged and intricate material. The second movement is an extended duet for two violas, accompanied by the other instruments. As the movement progresses, the accompanying instruments become more prominent. The third movement is the only fast movement in the piece, with rapid semiquavers and much use of pizzicato throughout. This leads into a serene chorale where the three upper instruments (two violins and first viola) are set against the second viola and two cellos."  - Helen Grime
More Information
SKU CH77891
Publisher Chester Music
Contributors Grime, Helen (Composer)
Genre Post-1900
Pages 24
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Helen Grime: Into The Faded Air for String Sextet (Full Score)
Your Rating
To Top