In stock

Adagios For Organ


Intermediate and experienced organists will prize this appealing original collection of organ works in slow tempo. Its forty-three adagios range from the Baroque era to modern times, offering a tremendous variety of pieces for public and private performance.

Highlights include works by such celebrated composers for organ as Johann Sebastian Bach ("Hark! A Voice Saith, All Are Mortal," BWV 643), Alexandre Guilmant (Méditation and Adagio, from Sonata No. 6, Op. 86), Louis Vierne (Prélude Funèbre, Op. 4), and Charles-Marie Widor (Adagio from Symphonie No. 5, Op. 42-1). Other pieces include the popular Largo from Handel's 1738 opera, Xerxes; Liszt's tribute to his friend, "At the Grave of Richard Wagner"; and pieces by Brahms, Couperin, Mendelssohn, Mozart, Schumann, Saint-Saëns, and others. Editor Rollin Smith provides notes on the music, with background information on each piece.

 Dover Original.


  • - Editor: Smith, Rollin
  • - Pages: 128
  • - Year of Publications: 07-16-2007
  • - Instruments: Organ
  • - Arrangement Format: Instrumental Album
  • - Language: English
  • - Genres: Classical
  • - Media: Sheet Music
  • - Publisher: Dover Publications
More Information
SKU 486457346
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Adagios For Organ
Your Rating
To Top